Enjoy Sharing

BitLocker does not prompt for PIN during startup

Now this was something I struggled a little here. I have to admit I do not have too much experience on this. After BitLocker encrypted the drive and I used the manage-bde command line to enable TPMAndPIN, it still didn’t prompt me whenever I started up my computer. The problem I found was that startup using TPM only was also enabled. You can check this by typing in

manage-bde –status

If you get a return result under the Key Protectors of “TPM”, and also “TPM And PIN” you’re not gonna get a prompt during startup. So, you need to remove the TPM only during startup. To do this I used this command.

manage-bde –protectors –delete c: –type tpm

Go ahead and check if that reflected by using the “manage-bde –status” command again and you should notice you’re left with “TPM And PIN”. Reboot your machine and…:)

Enjoy!!!

14 responses

  1. Pingback: How to enable BitLocker to prompt for PIN during startup « Teh Wei King's System Center Blog

  2. AdamRA4

    When i try that I get the following error:
    ERROR: An error occurred while deleting the key protector.

    Any suggestions?

    June 28, 2011 at 4:58 am

    • AdamRA4

      I also ran the Command Prompt as Administrator.

      June 28, 2011 at 4:59 am

      • Have you made sure the user you are logged on have administrative privileges?

        June 29, 2011 at 12:55 am

  3. AdamRA4

    Yes. It is the only account on a 1 month old install of Windows 7 Ultimate.

    June 29, 2011 at 3:56 am

  4. AdamRA4

    I already set that up before I posted here. There is no error code and nothing in event viewer. I think I might have to disable BitLocker and start over.

    June 29, 2011 at 11:48 pm

  5. AdamRA4
    If you are having this issue, suspend bitlocker, reboot, then delete the TPM protection mechanism.

    -Jolly

    September 14, 2011 at 4:34 am

    • David Carter

      This is what is needed to remove the TPM option (I got ERROR: An error occurred while deleting the key protector) – Suspend BitLocker, but didn’t require the reboot

      March 11, 2014 at 10:11 pm

  6. ben

    worked perfectly first time. thank you!

    January 9, 2012 at 11:16 pm

  7. Pingback: How to enable BitLocker to prompt for PIN during startup | EZE Training

  8. Pingback: How to Enable BitLocker to prompt for PIN during startup | Cosmin's Hooking testify

  9. Vijay

    How can I get the PIN prompt at the startup if the system doesnt have the TPM Chip at all? I have already encrypted the C Drive on Bit Locker.

    October 26, 2013 at 12:17 am

Leave a Reply

