Enjoy Sharing

Virtual machine could not be started because the hypervisor is not running. Boot Configuration Data (BCD)

If you’re like me running your laptop in dual-boot mode, one for Vista and one for Server 2008, there will be a time that you’ll need to format and reinstall one of your partitions. In my case, I reinstalled my Vista leaving my Server 2008 intact. After the installation of Vista is complete, you would need to run BCDEDIT to add the instance of Server 2008 which was left untouched so that you will have the option to boot from either. All runs fine except when you try to start up your Hyper-V image. You’ll run into an error saying that your virtual machine could not be started because the hypervisor is not running and then you will be presented with 3 possible reasons for this. The third cause is the most likely where changes have been made to the Boot Configuration Data or BCD. To add the hypervisor auto launch back into the BCD store you’ll need to run the following command:

bcdedit /set hypervisorlaunchtype auto

This can also happen if you happen to be working with sysprep’ed images with Hyper-V and it occurs because the HypervisorLaunchType has been generalized from the BCD when sysprep is run.

p/s: you may need to run the above command at the %Windir%System32

Update:

A colleague of mine just encountered a similar problem but he was presented with a different error message.

Microsoft VmBus (Instance ID {D41A1872-3740-41CE-A1EE-4522AB82F991}): Failed to Power on with Error ‘Incorrect function.’

Looking further into the event viewer revealed ‘Hypervisor’ driver required by the Virtual Machine Management service is not installed or disabled or The virtual machine bus is not running.

error1 error2

All this led me to possibly the same solution and therefore tried it, and IT WORKS! Just thought I’d share 🙂

 

 

Enjoy!!!

18 responses

  1. Randy

    Thank You Very Much! For posting this information. You saved me a lot of work, and I appreciate your taking the time to share this. I just finished deploying a sysprep’d Server 2008 image to 21 PC’s in a training lab at the Community College where I teach (MCT). Only to find the above error and have all the PC’s fail to run the pre-installed Hyper-V guests. Thanks So Much!

    January 8, 2009 at 9:12 pm

  2. Wei King

    Always encouraging to hear these have helped someone out there 🙂

    March 27, 2009 at 3:25 am

  3. Dagmar

    It worked for me! Thank you!

    November 23, 2009 at 7:08 am

  4. I got this message again and again but able to resolve this issue
    Please see step by step Instruction

    http://virtualizesharepoint.com/2010/12/14/the-virtual-machine-could-not-be-started-because-the-hypervisor-is-not-running/

    December 14, 2010 at 10:22 pm

  5. Thanks dude. Worked like a charm.

    December 31, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  6. Thanks a whole lot for posting this, Mate! When restoring BCD after some trouble with BOOTMGR the hypervisorlaunch suddenly was disabled.

    This tip worked right away, THANKS!!

    May 18, 2011 at 11:47 pm

  7. Hi.

    I was working with hyper-v fine. But i needed to disabled it with “sc config hvboot start=disabled” to enable vmware for a moment.

    I enabled hyper-v again with “sc config hvboot start=boot” but it didn`t work.

    I used “bcdedit /set hypervisorlaunchtype auto” but i still getting the message that hypervisor is turned off.

    What can i do???

    Thanks.

    August 17, 2011 at 4:12 am

  8. Fabrice Roth

    Just great! THANK YOU !!!! Even after installing W2008R2 after the W7 on a dual boot system I got the mentioned error. Typing in the command in an evelated command prompt saved my day.

    Thank you again!

    September 11, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  9. James

    Awesome it works, thanks heaps.

    October 8, 2011 at 12:19 pm

  10. Indraneel Nanodoskar

    I have a HP laptop with Windows 7 64 bit version. I have VMWare workstation installed. I did install a windows server 2008 R2 machine in it and successfully installed HYPER V role also. I created a virtual machine in hyper v but it is not getting started, I checked event logs and it showed me following errors.
    Virtual Machine driver is not running
    Virtual Machine Bus is not running.
    Can somebody please help me????

    December 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

  11. Alfred

    Thanks man….

    February 14, 2012 at 10:34 pm

  12. Joe

    Worked thank you!

    I just got done fixing mbr problem and then ran into this on 2008R2 server. I was ready to throw the thing out the window after encountering another problem…

    February 24, 2012 at 5:27 am

  13. Monte

    Thanks so much. Burned a few hours on this problem. Your post saved the day!

    May 8, 2012 at 10:21 am

  14. This is a topic that is close to my heart… Cheers!

    Where are your contact details though?

    September 13, 2012 at 7:08 am

  15. Boy, that’s not an obious solution. It worked for me – thanks!

    January 8, 2013 at 9:27 pm

  16. Absolutely brilliant! Thank you so much…Snowflake is up and running her Hyper-V after a foolish attempt at rearranging SATA cables and messing up the BCD settings.

    You’re the best!

    April 10, 2013 at 2:11 pm

  17. All over the place for this fix, thanks so much for posting. My issue was that I installed the Windows 8.1 update and it somehow corrupted my MBR. The command line you posted worked a trick.

    July 8, 2013 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

