Just another WordPress.com site

Unable to export an installed certificate to .pfx

If you’re trying to export an installed certificate into the .pfx format but the option is greyed out like when I was working with it for vPro provisioning, then it might be due to missing private keys. In my case, I’ve received a provisioning certificate from Comodo where I purchased it but was not able to export it to .pfx format which is required by the Out-of-Band Service Point in SCCM. If you are one of those that have this same experience, what you need to do is to recover the private key. To do this, type in certutil –repairstore my “<serialnumber>”.

How do you locate your serial number? Simply double-click on the certificate that you would like to export, go to the Details tab and note down the Serial Number found there. Once the command completed successfully, attempt to export the certificate again and you’ll see now that you are able to select to export the private key and the .pfx format option is now enabled.

pk2[1]

 

Enjoy!!!

7 responses

  1. Jeff

    Very nice. This just saved my butt. :)

    February 10, 2012 at 11:30 pm

  2. Ralph

    This problem was driving me crazy, thank you. However it didn’t work for me on the first run so I re-ran the command a second time and then I got those options back. Thanks again!

    August 9, 2012 at 12:39 am

  3. lavesh

    not working for me :(

    April 16, 2013 at 4:02 pm

  4. Danny

    Sweet! Thanks.

    May 31, 2013 at 4:59 am

  5. Sujit

    Not working for me.
    Getting erro mess CertUtil: -repairstore command FAILED: 0x80090011
    CertUtil: Object was not found.

    August 1, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    • Tried re-running it like one of the comments above?

      August 12, 2013 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers